History whispers at Camp Hancock

History
Image courtesy of history.nd.gov

History whispers within Bismarck’s very walls at the Camp Hancock State Historic Site. Built in 1872 as Fort Greeley, it was renamed after a Civil War commander.

This infantry post safeguarded railroad construction through the region. The site’s only original building, the post surgeon’s quarters (now a museum), is the oldest structure in all of Bismarck. Exhibits unveil the story of the fort’s evolution from a military post to a vital supply depot and signal station.

Today, visitors can explore the restored grounds, including a 1909 Northern Pacific locomotive and the relocated St. George’s Episcopal Church, originally built in 1881.

– Erin McIntyre with AI assist*

*As a company focused on innovative tools to build community, we embrace AI as an editorial resource to help us create relevant content. Every article is reviewed and modified by one of our editors to ensure accuracy.